Snowball, Hopper, Fluffy?

Standard

When I was almost 5 in 1996, I was in Howe, Okla. for Reunion Days, which is a annual festival that takes place. Howe is a very small town. My mom’s graduating class had 10 people!

So there I am, a little girl, and I see this tent that is giving away bunnies! Well, they weren’t just giving them away. You had to stand behind a fence or rail and shoot a ping-pong ball into a bowl or ring that was floating in one of those tiny, little kid’s mini pools.

I got so excited because I wanted a bunny so bad, but I didn’t realize how hard it was going to be to win one.   So little, short me went up to the tent dead set on making this ping-pong ball into a bowl, and let me tell you, I failed miserably, about four times probably.

Each time I failed I’d be back to my mom for another dollar to be able to play.  Finally, after a few tries, she told me that it was my last try, and when I didn’t make it I just started crying.  I remember how I was feeling at the moment, and I was upset. The bunnies were so close to me, I could even pet them and hold them, and my mom had already said I could keep one if I won one.

After I came back crying, a good friend of my mom’s went over to the owner of the tent and I paid him some money to let me shoot the ball from the other side of fence.  Well, I guess “the other side of the fence” is stretching it a little bit, because I was standing over the mini pool at this point, but guess what? I made it!

I had the bunny a few months, and then it got a cold and we didn’t realize it until we found it dead one day. I don’t remember what I named it, but it was a white bunny, so I’m sure it was some obvious name like “fluffy” or “snowball” or “hopper.”  I’m not sure, but I know I was confused and sad when it died.

About bethanyfolkes

A few fun facts about me to start it off: 1. I like to put clothes on my little Maltese dog, mostly pink clothes. (And of course she loves wearing them.) 2. I didn't really have that much hair until the age of 6 or 7. (I was a tragic looking child there for a few years.) 3. I have a fainting problem when it comes to blood, or anything fairly related to it, like shots. (I've passed out in a classroom before when the teacher was talking about bad car accidents and people getting their heads cut off.) Now for some more normal things about me: I'm a junior at Oklahoma State University, where I'm studying strategic communications with an emphasis on public relations. I'm definitely a people person. I love meeting new people and making new friends and connections, and I want a career that will embrace it and encourage that. I'm a Kappa Alpha Theta, and I've have never had as much fun living anywhere else besides my sorority house. I'm from a small town in Oklahoma, so I'm definitely a little country at heart. I love the outdoors, and I've always wanted to go hunting! Hopefully someone will take me soon. I love R&B and Rap, but I listen to country more than any other genre of music. Jason Aldean, Gary Allan, Luke Bryan (aka my future husband), Lady Antebellum, etc.

Leave a Reply

