Jessie & Solo

Standard

When I was in the fifth grade, my dad lived right across the street from my school, and I’ll never forget the day I walked over there and he showed me the new puppy chocolate lab he had gotten at Walmart from a family giving them away.  He named her Jessie, and I got to take her over to the school and show my friends who hadn’t been picked up yet by their parents.

The reason my dad got Jessie is because he could tell that she was the sickest out of all the puppies, and he took her to the vet, got her medicine, X-rays, etc.  She had to get an X-ray because her tail was/still is broken.  My dad asked whether if he should get it fixed, but the vet said it had already healed like that, so there wasn’t any use of fixing it.

When my dad and my stepmom Dianna got Jessie, they already had another dog, Solo.  He was more of a lapdog, therefore liked Dianna better, so Jessie was daddy’s dog.  Solo is a toy fox terrier, and is white with only one, big spot on him, that’s part of why he’s called Solo.

When Jessie was young and we would take the dogs for a walk, it was funny because Solo would pick and pick on her, and we warned him that someday she was going to get him back, and we were right.

Now Jessie is much bigger than Solo, and can just push him away with one arm.  She’s a funny dog. She’s so sweet if she knows you, If she’s used to you being around she loves you, but if you’re a stranger, she’s suddenly in attack mode! She is protective of my dad especially, but also anyone else she likes.

Solo used to do this funny thing with my dad, where my dad would like tilt his head back and howl, and he’d end up getting Solo to start howling like that. I think my dad may have played a little too rough with him and made him self conscious maybe, because now he’s like more sensitive and more aggressive, but can still be really sweet.

About bethanyfolkes

A few fun facts about me to start it off: 1. I like to put clothes on my little Maltese dog, mostly pink clothes. (And of course she loves wearing them.) 2. I didn't really have that much hair until the age of 6 or 7. (I was a tragic looking child there for a few years.) 3. I have a fainting problem when it comes to blood, or anything fairly related to it, like shots. (I've passed out in a classroom before when the teacher was talking about bad car accidents and people getting their heads cut off.) Now for some more normal things about me: I'm a junior at Oklahoma State University, where I'm studying strategic communications with an emphasis on public relations. I'm definitely a people person. I love meeting new people and making new friends and connections, and I want a career that will embrace it and encourage that. I'm a Kappa Alpha Theta, and I've have never had as much fun living anywhere else besides my sorority house. I'm from a small town in Oklahoma, so I'm definitely a little country at heart. I love the outdoors, and I've always wanted to go hunting! Hopefully someone will take me soon. I love R&B and Rap, but I listen to country more than any other genre of music. Jason Aldean, Gary Allan, Luke Bryan (aka my future husband), Lady Antebellum, etc.

Leave a Reply

