Slade the Snake

Standard

One of my best friends from high school, Grant, got a pet snake when we were juniors.  Grant’s little sister is Sissy, the little girl I used to babysit.  That’s how I got the job, through Grant suggesting me.

Usually I’m terrified of snakes that are out in the wild, but pet snakes from Petco aren’t dangerous. They aren’t mean, unless you make them mean by banging on the glass and taunting them.  One time I was bored so I went to Petsmart to hold a snake and pet it.

Grant was trying to think of names for it, and was coming up with the lamest stuff.  He was suggesting human names, real ones that aren’t cool sounding. I explained that such a cool animal had to have a matching name, and that’s when I suggested Slade, and that’s what he went with when he made his decision a little later.

Like me, Sissy was scared of snakes, too, and she was having a hard time understanding that this snake will be nice if you’re careful with him.  It took at least a month or more, but I finally got Sissy to hold the snake.

From there it just progressed on, and it got to the point where she felt comfortable going and getting the snake out of his tank by herself. The picture below is her holding it, and that was even the first time. You can see how concentrated she is, ha.

About bethanyfolkes

A few fun facts about me to start it off: 1. I like to put clothes on my little Maltese dog, mostly pink clothes. (And of course she loves wearing them.) 2. I didn't really have that much hair until the age of 6 or 7. (I was a tragic looking child there for a few years.) 3. I have a fainting problem when it comes to blood, or anything fairly related to it, like shots. (I've passed out in a classroom before when the teacher was talking about bad car accidents and people getting their heads cut off.) Now for some more normal things about me: I'm a junior at Oklahoma State University, where I'm studying strategic communications with an emphasis on public relations. I'm definitely a people person. I love meeting new people and making new friends and connections, and I want a career that will embrace it and encourage that. I'm a Kappa Alpha Theta, and I've have never had as much fun living anywhere else besides my sorority house. I'm from a small town in Oklahoma, so I'm definitely a little country at heart. I love the outdoors, and I've always wanted to go hunting! Hopefully someone will take me soon. I love R&B and Rap, but I listen to country more than any other genre of music. Jason Aldean, Gary Allan, Luke Bryan (aka my future husband), Lady Antebellum, etc.

Leave a Reply

